HootSuite Adds More Awesome to Hootlet with AutoSchedule – HootSuite Social Media Management


HootSuite / Hootlet has become one of my favorite tools to manage twitter accounts and my Facebook account and Facebook pages for myself and my clients.  I’ve tried many but this web based service seems to have the best of both words and I have come to expect it on all the machines I work on.

HootSuite Adds More Awesome to Hootlet with AutoSchedule

Post is in the News & Events Parent Category July 17, 2012 by Andy Au0

HootSuite adds more awesome to Hootlet with new features including AutoSchedule – a powerful new link share tool that determines the optimal time to schedule social media messaging. Now you can automatically queue messages throughout the day to maintain a consistent social media presence.

via HootSuite Adds More Awesome to Hootlet with AutoSchedule – HootSuite Social Media Management.

Hootlet – Time Saver

This Chrome extension is one of the first I add to any machine I work on.  It has saved me countless hours.  One of the new time savers is Auto-schedule feature.    When I’m pushing content to my to biggest twitter accounts try and space it out.  So you can imaging when you are pushing 20 updates the time management can get a bit tricky.  Now this is taken care of.   I have used it today and like it thus far.

Schedule Still Works

Now, if I’m managing a campaign for a client, I still manage the schedule manually.  I can release the updates to Twitter and Facebook based on the campaign we have designed.  This still remains so you don’t lose anything there.

Possible Improvements

Here are some ideas I would love to see in this new capability:

  • Load Balancing – As you put more updates in, they auto-adjust to spread out over time, maybe a range you give them.  9 to 5 or 7 to 7, don’t know.
  • More Automation – Since HootSuite is already watching, they should build in auto-responder capability.  That would be awesome.
  • 7 Drip Logic – Have a singe post/update  set for distribution X number of times.  The logic here is that a message doesn’t really sink in until it’s heard 7 times by the consumer.

So what do you think of the tool?  What other suggestions would you recommend to HootSuite.

Good Hunting!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tim Rueb on July 17, 2012 - 8:11 pm

    I was a bit surprised with AutoSchedule when it scheduled one of my post 9:35pm then the next one at 7:25am the next day. That seemed like a pretty big jump. I wonder why it did that.

  2. #2 by Shady Anwar on July 24, 2012 - 10:26 am

    Look, it is scheduling some posts at times I would never put tweets at, but for this reason exactly that I’m open to seeing how effective it eventually will turn to be..

    • #3 by Tim Rueb on July 24, 2012 - 12:13 pm

      @Shady, I understand that completely. I think it’s a good feature, don’t get me wrong, I was hoping it would be a lot like the product Buffer in which it would balance your posts through-out a 24 hour cycle, or a cycle of your choosing.

      I like the ability to work for 1 hour in the morning and fill the day with posts and then move on to other items on my schedule. What surprised me is that, in my case, it rarely auto schedules anything in the late or early hours of the day. It seems to focus on 9am to 9pm eastern time for me.

      I hope they fix that. Like I said, I am hoping it become more like the product Buffer. BTW, no responses yet from HootSuite to any of my inquiries or direct message tweets.

  1. HootSuite Extends Google+ Pages to All Users « ROI HUNTERS Field Journal

Your Thoughts?

  • Reading Goal

    2020 Reading Challenge

    2020 Reading Challenge
    Tim has read 2 books toward his goal of 36 books.
    hide
  • Currently Reading

  • Categories

  • Archives