foursquare Social Media Ignorance


Image representing Foursquare as depicted in C...

Image via CrunchBase

So tell me what’s wrong with this picture.  I got this email today:

Hi Tim,

If you’ve opened up foursquare in the last couple weeks you’ve probably noticed that we made a ton of changes. We re-imagined the entire app, Extreme Makeover style, to make it even easier for you and your friends to share and save your experiences and find new places to go. We also gave it plenty of design love and under-the-hood tweaks, so it’s not only prettier but faster than ever – hurrah!

Usage Ignorance

Anyone who has me as a friend in foursquare or see’s my Facebook stream knows I use foursquare a lot.  The question is, why doesn’t foursquare know this?  How can I get an email making it seem like I need to be reminded that the screens have changed, the navigation is different, more map features added, and more?  So why is a social media company incapable of using their own data to enhance my relationship?  Why not make me feel special rather then a member of their junk mail list?

Lessons for  Small Business

Even the big boys don’t get it right.  So don’t ever think that you should not try because some major player in your space can always do it better and faster then you.  Often, small business has more chances to beat the larger players at their own game because small business can be more nimble.

So my advice, don’t count out social media in your marketing plan!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Nimesh Shah on July 16, 2012 - 2:40 am

    I agree with you on this as I too recd this very same note despite the fact that I sure Four Sqaure pretty regularly. It’s really a shame!

    • #2 by Tim Rueb on July 16, 2012 - 12:51 pm

      I was disappointed, but now that I’ve cooled down, I’m going to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they contracted these email campaigns out. But it is such a black eye in my book.

      The positive is that I get to use this as an example for my small business clients and prospects as an example of what not to do. 8)

      Thanks for your comment Nimesh. Glad we connected on Facebook as well.

  2. #3 by The Hook on November 12, 2012 - 1:51 pm

    You have to love bureaucracy…

    • #4 by Tim Rueb on November 12, 2012 - 1:52 pm

      Yep, It really makes you wonder sometimes.

Your Thoughts?

  • Reading Goal

    2020 Reading Challenge

    2020 Reading Challenge
    Tim has read 2 books toward his goal of 36 books.
    hide
  • Currently Reading

  • Categories

  • Archives