Cuil — the world’s biggest search engine?


Fist of all, I wish this cuil.com crew nothing but the best. I’m a big fan of competition, and want to see advances in this field of search engines and search marketing. I think it will only happen when pressure is applied by these types of companies, so I support them as best I can. Now, that said ….

Biggest?

OK, bravado is nice. I like the attitude, but biggest?

I did some very basic searches, mostly my name to my company name along with some of the phrases I’m monitoring for my clients and the results were light compared to the legacy search engines. There is no comparison really at this time. Cuil is definitely collecting info from blogs, but even that was light. I’m sure it will continue to grow and I will check on it periodically.

Features

Some of the features they are supporting at this time:

  • Drill Down
  • Roll-Over Definitions
  • Tabs
  • Navigation Suggestions

Somewhere I saw a Firefox add on for Cuil, if I find that I’ll add it as well and see if that works as well. (Oddly, I did a search for it on Cuil and couldn’t find anything about it.)

Good Hunting.

(Strange, I’m getting a lot of hits on this page based on the misspelled name Culi also, but not sure why?)

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by stirfryguy on August 2, 2008 - 9:51 pm

    I read about Culi from Slashdot with an ex-Google search analyst. A new search engine does provide some competition, but until Culi becomes more developed, as you mentioned, its hard to say what will become of Culi.

    I compared three keywords from Google and Culi. Google still resulted with more relevant searches and Culi showed some related pages but not as relevant. But, with Google indexing their one trillionth page, can Culi keep up? Will Culi provide a competitive advantage that can make hardcore Google, MSN and Yahoo searchers convert?

    Lastly, how would SEO work with Culi…

  2. #2 by Tim Rueb on August 4, 2008 - 11:02 am

    @stirfryguy thanks for stopping and leaving a comment. I think as we begin to understand what cuil uses to generate results we will understand how to adapt SEM campaigns to them. Right now it’s a mute point though.

  3. #3 by pressreleasepr on August 8, 2008 - 1:35 pm

    I waited until the early media hoopla was out of the way. Still not impressed. But…

    They are young so I’ll check back on them. But they need to improve…

    http://pressreleaseprblog.com/2008/08/06/what-new-search-engine-cuil-could-have-done-better-from-a-pr-point-of-view/

  4. #4 by Tim Rueb on August 9, 2008 - 1:14 pm

    @pressreleasepr – you have a great post on your BLOG, thanks for sharing the link.

  5. #5 by pressreleasepr on August 9, 2008 - 3:20 pm

    Thanks Tim, and appreciate you checking it out and commenting.

  6. #6 by AlexM on August 16, 2008 - 10:07 am

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

  7. #7 by Tim Rueb on August 17, 2008 - 10:53 am

    @AlexM Thanks

  8. #8 by Copy Paste Traffic Review on January 13, 2011 - 4:26 am

    Keep up the good content, put to my personal ie feed.

    • #9 by Tim Rueb on January 13, 2011 - 7:39 am

      Thank you Copy Paste 8)

Your Thoughts?

  • Reading Goal

    2012 Reading Challenge

    2012 Reading Challenge
    Tim has read 7 books toward his goal of 24 books.
    hide
  • Goodreads

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Top Rated

